Sacraments for Adults 18 and OVER

Click here to REGISTER for the 2019-20 Adult Sacraments Program.

Click here for our 2019-20 Adult Sacraments Program CALENDAR.

Sacraments are ceremonies or acts that gives us an outward or visible sign of divine grace. Grace, put simply is God's life within us. The grace we receive in the sacraments are what feed a Catholic's life so they can joyfully enter into life's journey and share that joy with others. Sacraments are celebrated in well-known rituals that mark major points in a Catholic's journey from birth to death. The Sacraments of Initiation are Baptism, Confirmation, and Eucharist. We are born anew by Baptism, strengthened by Confirmation, and nourished in the Eucharist. 

Baptism FOR UNBAPTIZED ADULTS

Unbaptized adults or those adults from other faith communities are received into the Roman Catholic church through the Rite of Christian Initiation for Adults (RCI-A).

SACRAMENTS FOR BAPTIZED ADULTS

Baptized adults in many Christian faiths can become Catholic through a similar process unbaptized adults using many of the same studies.

CONFIRMATION FOR CATHOLICS

If you missed receiving the sacrament of Confirmation as a baptized Catholic, we offer a condensed program to prepare you to be Confirmed. Click here to access the form to register for this program.

 

RCI-A 2019-20 Schedule

All classes are on Saturdays from 10am to 11:30am in the Pope John XXIII Room unless otherwise noted. Sponsors and friends are always welcome to stay and attend the class as well.

  • Sat Sep 14 - Class #1

  • Sat Sep 28 - Class #2

  • Sat Oct 12 - Class #3

  • Sat Oct 26 - Class #4

  • Sat Nov 9 - Class #5

  • Sat Nov 23 - Class #6

  • Sat Dec 7 - Class #7 and Rite of Welcome

  • Sat Dec 21 - Class #8

  • Sat Jan 11 - Class #9

  • Sun Jan 12 - Call to Continuing Conversion for Baptized (At the Diocesan Cathedral from 2pm to 5pm.)

  • Sat Jan 25 - Class #10

  • Sat Feb 1 - Sacraments Retreat (9am to 1pm in Philip Hall, All students must attend with sponsor or another adult.)

  • Sat Feb 8 - Class #11

  • Sat Feb 29 - Class #12

  • Sun Mar 1 - Rite of Election for Unbaptized (At the Diocesan Cathedral from 2pm to 5pm.)

  • Sat Mar 7 - Class #13

  • Sat Mar 14 - 1st Scrutiny for the Unbaptized (4:30pm in PJ23 and will be done by 6pm)

  • Sat Mar 21 - Class #14

  • Sun Mar 22 - 2nd Scrutiny for the Unbaptized (9:30am in PJ23 and will be done by 11am)

  • Sat Mar 28 - Reconciliation for the Baptized (10am in the Church)

  • Sun Mar 29 - 3rd Scrutiny for the Unbaptized (4:30pm in PJ23 and will be done by 6pm)

  • Sun Apr 5 - Vigil Practice for Unbaptized (Start in Pope John XXIII Room at 10:15am and will move to Church. Must attend with sponsor or another adult. We should be done by 11:45am.)

  • Sat Apr 11 - Seder Meal & Holy Thursday Mass (Start in Philip Hall at 4:30pm and will move to Church.)

  • Sat Apr 11 - Easter Vigil for Unbaptized (Start in Pope John XXIII Room at 6pm and will move to Church. Must attend with sponsor.)

  • Tue Apr 14 - Mass Practice for Baptized (Beginning in the Church at 6pm. Must attend with sponsor or another adult. We should be done by 7:15pm.)

  • Fri Apr 17 - Confirmation/First Eucharist Mass for Baptized (Tentatively beginning in Philip Hall at 6pm and will move to Church. Must attend with sponsor.)